Skip to content

Are You Busier Than Oprah Winfrey?

“I don’t run because I don’t have the time.”

“I’m too busy to run.”

“Running won’t fit into my schedule.”

“I want to run, but there’s no time.”

“I’ll have to give up too much time to run.”

Running Late

Sound familiar?

I get it. We all live and work in a busy world. A world full of personal, family, and family, and financial responsibilities.

“Time Is Money”

In today’s economy, now more than ever, we’re driven by mounting pressure to pile on the tasks that turn a profit. A recent Business Insider article notes that people believe that taking time for themselves equates to loss of money.

So with money on everyone’s minds, who has time for personal care and enjoyment?

Time is Money

At What Cost?

With a schedule that includes raising 4 kids—a tween and 3 toddlers—running a small day-care, and launching the only Jeff Galloway running program in the Twin Cities, my days and weeks fly by in a blur. It’s so easy to let the demands of my responsibilities take priority over my personal well-being.

If I’m not careful, I’m not scheduling time for my own needs.

But I tell you what. I make time to run. If I don’t schedule a run during the week or weekend, the pressure of taking care of all those other responsibilities becomes insurmountable.

I become unhappy, unsettled, and careless about my health. My healthy eating habits suffer. My sleep suffers. And my emotions start getting the best of me.

Everyone should take time out of their hectic schedules to enjoy activities like running because it leads to life enjoyment.

What does all the money in the world mean if you don’t take time for yourself?

Famously Busy Runners

I’m not the only busy person who makes the time to run. Take a look at these famously busy people. They all have one thing in common. They all run.

Oprah Winfrey, American Media Proprietor

George W. Bush, 43rd President of the United States

Al Roker, Co-host of the Today Show

Bobby Flay, Chef and Food Network Personality

Paul Ryan, United States Representative, Wisconson

Al Gore, 45th Vice President of the United States

Elizabeth Hasselbeck, Co-host of the View

Kate Gosslin, Mother of 8 and TV Personality

Are you busier than Oprah Winfrey or mother of 8, Kate Gosslin?

The Good News

You still have time to enjoy life and become a runner. You can still be financially responsible and run. For a minimal time commitment you can discover the life-changing benefits of running and join the Minneapolis/St. Paul Jeff Galloway Running Group. Your age and running experience do not matter.

The best part is you only have to make time for two 30-minute runs during the week and one group run on Saturday mornings.

Want to train for a couch to 5k and run the Minneapolis Get In Gear 5k on April 26? Our Getting Started Group begins in March 9.

How about a half marathon? We’re training for the July 4 Red, White & Boom! TC Half Marathon. Training begins on March 16. We have a limited number of guaranteed entries to this race. Register now to receive your guaranteed race entry code!

Jeff Galloway, Minneapolis Registration page

Don’t let time slip by. Make running your happy hour!

image credit: stock.xchng
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

